Skip to main content
Search Menu

Gaëtan Thomas honoured with national award for contribution to advancement of nuclear energy

June 29 2020, 15:06 PM

Gaetan Thomas honoured with national award for contribution to advancement of nuclear energy

NB Power’s former President and CEO, Gaëtan Thomas, was recently honoured with a national award to mark his leadership at the Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station and his contributions to positioning NB Power as a national leader in the development of Advanced Small Modular Reactors (SMRs).

He received the Ian McRae Award, which is presented every year by the Canadian Nuclear Society (CNS) and the Canadian Nuclear Association (CNA), to recognize the contribution of an individual to the general advancement of nuclear energy in Canada through management, administration, public service, medicine, communication and the arts.

“I have always believed that excellence starts with love and a passion for what you do,” said Mr. Thomas.  “I am honoured to receive this award, but I want to acknowledge the hundreds of dedicated nuclear employees at NB Power who, through hard work, leadership and expertise, have helped position New Brunswick as a world leader in the nuclear industry. I have always been a proponent of teamwork because together everyone achieves more, and we have become a leader in our field because of the dedicated New Brunswickers who work hard every day towards achieving excellence.”

Throughout his 38-year career at NB Power, Mr. Thomas has advanced nuclear energy in many ways through different roles. Before his 10-year tenure as NB Power’s President and CEO, he held the role of Chief Nuclear Officer and Vice President Nuclear. In 2018, he was also appointed as the Chairman of the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO)-Atlanta Centre Regional Governing Board.

In recent years, he has been instrumental in positioning NB Power as a leader in the development and deployment of Advanced Small Modular Reactors (SMRs). He has successfully worked with the New Brunswick Government to encourage investment in SMR technology.

“I am very proud of the work that has been accomplished during my time at NB Power to position New Brunswick as a leader in the future of nuclear energy in Canada as well as here in New Brunswick,” said Thomas. “Small modular reactors are the next generation of nuclear technology because of their potential to generate low-carbon electricity safely, reliably, and inexpensively. They offer great flexibility for a number of uses within the province’s power grid.”

A New Brunswicker through and through, Mr. Thomas was born and raised in the small northern New Brunswick community of Tilley Road. His first job at NB Power was at the Eel River High Voltage Direct Current Converter Station. Throughout the years, he became a leader known for engaging with staff at all levels of the organization, facilitating a culture of innovation and excellence and has always demonstrated well NB Power’s values of safety, quality, diversity and innovation.

He led his team through the completion of many major projects, including the Point Lepreau Refurbishment, extending the Station’s life by 30-plus years. In 2019, under Mr. Thomas’ leadership, Point Lepreau also achieved the highest industry standards as assessed by the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO).

Point Lepreau and its employees continue to be part of the fabric of New Brunswick - living and working in communities around the province, while driving the economy and producing energy that supports day to day life in New Brunswick.

Canadian Nuclear Achievement Award recipients were nominated by their colleagues, community members and nuclear peers for leadership, dedication, and passion for nuclear power.

All of us at NB Power would like to congratulate Mr. Thomas on this well-deserved award and an exceptional career serving customers and the industry.


Categories In the community